Support
Screening room

Original files management in Screening Rooms

Choose whether a Screening Room keeps the original uploaded files, and learn how to download, send, or purge them.

Projects
Production
Roles
ManagerOperator
Updated

When you upload files to a Screening Room, Mnemonica checks the properties of each file to verify that it complies with streaming standards.

If the file format matches streaming standards, Mnemonica takes no action. The asset is immediately available for indexing or streaming. If the file does not match streaming standards, an encoding process runs.

At any time, Team Members can decide how a Room deals with the original files that are not streamable. There are two choices:

  • Delete them when the encoding is complete.
  • Keep them in the Room.

If you keep the original files, the size of the Project can increase dramatically.

To choose, open the Room Settings window and turn the Keep originals switch on or off. If the switch is on, Mnemonica stores the original uploaded files with their streaming versions.

In a Room, a rosette icon in the top right corner of the media card shows that the asset has an original file.

Pink rosette icon that marks a media with an original file

Media card of a clip with the rosette icon in the top right corner. An arrow points to the info button in the lower-left corner.

To get the media details, click the info button in the lower-left corner of the media card.

Media details panel with the Nice Code, name, upload date, duration, size and original size, and the technical properties of the Proxy and of the Original

The complete file metadata is on the Player page, in the "Media Info" tab.

Managing originals

When Mnemonica stores original files, you can:

  • Keep them for further use or as an on-the-cloud backup.
  • Download them.
  • Send them via Box.
  • Delete them.

Original files are separate assets. You can manage them independently from their streaming proxy version. To download assets or add assets to a Box, specify in the dialog if the action is for the Proxy files, the Original files, or both.

Download menu of a media with the options Proxy and Original

Downloading files from a Screening Room.

Choose version box with the Proxy checkbox selected and the Original checkbox cleared

Adding files to a Box.

Purging originals

If the size of a Project becomes a problem, you can delete the original files at any time with the Purge originals command. It is available for:

  • An entire Project.
  • An entire Screening Room.
  • Single or multiple media in a Screening Room.

If you delete an original file while Mnemonica sends it through a Box, Mnemonica does not delete the file until the Box expires.

Menu with the options Settings, Purge originals and Leave project

Purging originals of an entire Project.

Purging originals keeps all the proxies. The number of elements in a purged Screening Room does not change.

On this page